Celebrating Excellence: Holzschuh College of Business Awards Ceremony

  • May 9, 2023
Celebrating Excellence: Holzschuh College of Business Awards Ceremony

One of the highlights of the spring semester is the annual Holzschuh College of Business Administration Honor Societies Induction & Awards Ceremony that was held on April 27, 2023. This event provides a wonderful occasion for faculty and staff to recognize the academic achievements of our business students who have worked incredibly hard to achieve success. 

Dr. Mark Frascatore, Dean provided the welcome and opening remarks. Mr. Phillip Catanese, Director of Centers and College Outreach introduced the guest speaker Tamara B. Owen, President and CEO, Visually Impaired Advancement, a Buffalo-based nonprofit agency.  Owen has served in this role since 2013 and is responsible for a new strategic direction and business model which has strengthened the services and the financial performance of the agency.  Prior to joining VIA, she was a senior executive at Kaleida Health for more than 20 years.  Clinically trained as a physical therapist, she has had a longstanding professional commitment to serving others. Owen shared two key points with the audience, "Be Kind and Live in the Present", words we can all take to heart. 

Next up were the Honor Society Induction ceremonies with the following organizations: Beta Alpha Psi, Beta Gamma Sigma and Omicron Delta Epsilon.

Niagara’s Chapter of Beta Alpha Psi, Lamba Chi was established in 2007 and is the nonprofit international honorary and service organization for accounting, finance and information systems. It provides opportunities for development of technical and professional skills.  Dr. Hai Ta, associate professor of accounting, serves as the honor society advisor. He and his Executive Board:  Emily Stoianovich, President, Adam Juzwick, Vice President and Alyson Depadre, Treasurer initiated their inductees and presented honor cords to their graduating seniors.

Beta Gamma Sigma was established at NU in 2005 and is the honor society for schools accredited by AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Students selected are the top 10% of undergraduates (juniors and seniors) and top 20% of graduate students. The society was founded on three guiding principles: honor, wisdom and earnestness. Dr. Dennis Nsafoah, assistant professor of economics, Dr. Ann Rensel, professor of MIS and associate dean and Dr. Daniel Tompkins, professor of finance presided over the induction ceremony presented the students with their honor cords, certificates as well as the key of Beta Gamma Sigma.

Omicron Delta Epsilon is the international honor society for economics. Niagara’s Chapter, Beta Epsilon, was established in 1986. It is one of the world’s largest academic honor societies and promotes recognition of scholastic achievement in economics. Dr. Hoontaek Seo, associate professor of finance and Dr. Krieg Tidemann, assistant professor of economics officiated the installment of the new members.

Special recognition was given to the top graduating senior from each major with the Everett W. Ockerman award. These awards are for excellence in academic achievements in honor of Dr. Everett Ockerman, Professor Emeritus who served as chair of the Department of Economics and Commerce for 25 years.  Students receive the plaque in recognition of their high academic achievement.

Our final awards of the evening were to recognize the top outstanding MBA student Lindsey Burns and outstanding MSF student Chau Le.

Dean Frascatore shared his thoughts about this special event, “It is a true pleasure to host this event and to recognize our high-achieving students, and also to share the experience with their families. It was also a treat to have our inaugural speaker, Ms. Tammy Owen, President and CEO of Visually Impaired Advancement, share her professional experiences and advice to the students. As I always say - this is one of my favorite events of the year!”